The Center for Youth Development through Law is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization founded in 1999.  We operate in cooperation with the U.C. Berkeley School of Law, although we are funded independently.

We are grateful to our generous
2021 major sponsors:

California ChangeLawyers Foundation
Scott R. Evans Foundation
The Mary and Stan Friedman Family
Mark Lillge
pH Family Foundation
West Contra Costa Unified School District 
Bernard E. and Alba Witkin Charitable Foundation

and our many local law firm and individual supporters

For a list of our 2020 supporters, click here

Judge Henry Ramsey, Jr., founding board member, presenting summer program graduation certificates

Our Leadership

Board of Directors

Anitha Anne

Cooley LLP

Theresa Buckley


California Public Utilities Commission

Creighton Davis

Baker McKenzie LLP

Allyson Deraps

Associate Counsel

Burning Man Project 

Hon. Danielle Douglas

Superior Court of

Contra Costa County

Natalie Friedman


Alison Gilliam

Director, Emerging Legal Issues

Seagate Technology

Hon. Joni Hiramoto


Superior Court of

Contra Costa County

Jesse Hsieh

Deputy Public Defender

San Francisco County

Su-Jin Lee

COO and General Counsel,
Axis Network

James G. Roberts


Ariana Shaffer


Cooley LLP

Cherrie Tan

Program Alumna '09

McManis Faulkner

Ben Therriault

Police Detective

City of Richmond

Adam Wilks

Deputy District Attorney

Contra Costa County

Michael Wilson

Assistant Public Defender

Alameda County

Leadership Council


Brian Barsky

Ray Cardozo

Stanley Friedman

Ben Hamburg

Hon. Brenda Harbin-Forte

Hon. Barbara Lee

Melissa Nelken

Reginald Oh

Dorian Peters, Program Alumnus

Miriam Rokeach

Winslow O. Small

UC Berkeley School of Law Faculty Advisor

Catherine Albiston


UC Berkeley School of Law

Executive Director

Nancy Schiff